Council Members

These are the Leeds Association of Engineers Council Members for the session 2019-2020, but the roles are also effective from the 2019 AGM.  Elections took place at the Annual General Meeting held on Thursday 25th April 2019. The term of office is usually two years. Due to the Covid-19 situation we were unable to hold an AGM in 2020 but we are planning to hold an AGM in April 2021 using the online Zoom meeting system.

Details can be found in the section ‘Rules Of The Association‘ from the above menu tab ‘About Us‘. Members of the association are welcome to join the council and occasionally there are vacancies. The council meets monthly to arrange meetings and conduct the affairs of the association. For further information please contact any officer in person at a meeting if you are interested. Association Members can contact individual Council Members by email using the links below (above the photographs).

At the April 2019 Annual General Meeting the members  elected Ross Town as President. Ross, who has only been a council member for a short time, was welcomed by members at the AGM to be their President for the next two years.  Immediate Past President John Aldersley volunteered to take on the position of Acting Vice-President in the absence of a volunteer to take on the role at present. John presented Ross with the president’s medallion of office and they were applauded by the members at the AGM.  We wish Ross and John well in their new roles and council members will support them fully during their terms of office.  At a council meeting in March 2021 Ross Town kindly agreed to extend his presidency for a further year and this will be confirmed at the next AGM. During the last session the President and Council Members welcomed Graham Roper and Jennifer Burton as new members of council and look forward to their contributions to the association in the future. 

Any member who wishes to consider accepting the position of Vice-President can contact a member of council who will be pleased to assist with the application to join the council and take up the position.

Contact the President

President of the Leeds Association of Engineers:  Ross Town

Contact the Vice-President

Immediate Past President and Acting Vice-President of the Leeds Association of Engineers:  John Aldersley

Contact the Treasurer & Dinner Secretary

Treasurer & Dinner Secretary: Andrew Kibler.

Contact Kevin Hegarty

Trustee & Council Member:  Kevin J. Hegarty

Contact the Golf Secretary

Hon. Golf Secretary: Steve Stacey

Contact the Journal Editor

Trustee & Journal Editor: John Bentley

Contact the Minute Secretary

Trustee & Minute Secretary: Ian A. Blakeley

Contact the Website Editor

Website Editor: Gordon Toulson

Contact the Membership Secretary

Membership Secretary: Malcolm S. Murray

Contact Alex Rogers

Council Member: Alexander Rogers

Contact Howard Kingswell

Howard Kingswell Thumb Sharp
Council Member: Howard Kingswell

Contact Ian Scholes

Council Member: Ian Scholes

Contact Graham Roper

Council Member: Graham Roper

Contact Jennifer Burton

Council Member: Jennifer Burton

Contact Jas S. Shergill

tn_jaswinder shergill
Council Member:        Jas. S. Shergill J.P.

Contact Barrie Yates

Council Member:             Barrie J. Yates

Trustees: There are three trustees who oversee the financial affairs of the association. Further details can be found on the ‘Rules of the Association’ page – See Rule 19.

John Bentley

Kevin J. Hegarty

Ian A. Blakeley