Young Engineer Award or Project Scheme

As reported in our last Journal, the award scheme for young engineers in its earlier form has been discontinued. However, we have been able recently through our Corporate members to re-introduce the prize. Awards were presented to

2006 Mr. Leigh Powell, Esq. from RWE Power International.
2007 Mr. Matt. R. Harker, Esq. from Leeds University.
2008 Mr. Andrew Wilkinson, Esq., from Carnaud Metal Box.
2009 Ms. Katie Roe from TEI Ltd.
2010 Mr. Ryan Clarkson from Davy Markham Ltd.

We have explored various schemes to encourage the development of young engineers and decided that we should support projects run for young engineers.

Barrie Yates reports on the Formula Student Racing Car Project and the car run by Leeds University. We have supported this project from 2000 to 2010 through a small financial gift. Barrie Yates keeps in regular contact with the University on a personal basis on this and other subjects.

Table of contents
President’s Report 2010
Officers of the Leeds Association of Engineers
Presidents and Vice Presidents of the Association 1865 to 2010
Secretaries of the Association
In office 2004 to 2010
Meeting Sponsorship
Young Engineer Award or Project Scheme
Anniversary Dinners 2005 to 2010
Extract from the “Rules of the Leeds Association of Engineers”
Formula Student
Other Associations